Some 50 members were welcomed by Chairman, Roger Radcliffe, to the 38th Annual General Meeting in St Agnes Methodist Hall on 24 February. Treasurer, David Teagle, reported a balance of £33,123 in the bank, as against £20,932 at the end of 2020. The Purchasing Fund stood at £737 and the Roof Fund at £10,500. The profit from the Shop was £3,341. These figures were excellent but he warned of the need for roof repairs and possible electricity price rises in the future.
Curator, Clare Murton, reported a very successful short season. In 2022 there would be a new Passmore Edwards exhibition and one on recently acquired pottery and paintings. The database was up to date. Two recent acquisitions were highlighted – a century-old miner’s hat found in old mine workings at Polberro, and a Common Prayer Book stamped “AA Camp St Agnes” from the wartime anti aircraft base. She thanked Philip Mitchell, Caroline Clifton, Luke Jones and Ann Oxley for all their help.
Membership Secretary, Mary Wilson, reported 195 Members, some single and some family, which is 7 more than last year. We had welcomed 10 new Members. There were 42 outstanding subscriptions. Many subscriptions came with a note of thanks to all the volunteers, and some enclosed a donation.
Chairman, Roger Radcliffe, said that, due to Covid, the Museum had relied more than ever on its Website and Twitter account and thanked Emily, Jessica and Charlotte Morgan for all their hard work in maintaining them. He also thank Mike Furness for organising the online Shop so well at this time – “It kept us afloat during Covid”. He admitted that it was daunting to reopen the Museum in 2021 after such a long break and paid tribute to Vice Chairman, Clive Benney, for helping prepare the Museum.
Chairman, Roger Radcliffe, Vice Chairman, Clive Benney, and Treasurer, David Teagle were all unanimously re-elected. Jackie Cotton was welcomed as the new Secretary, and the Committee was re-elected en bloc with Nicholas Roberts filling the single vacancy.
1950s & 60s St Agnes through the Lens of Ken Young
After refreshments Clive Benney gave a fascinating talk on “1950s & 60s St Agnes through the Lens of Ken Young, Photographer”. After thanking Ken’s widow, Doreen, who was in the audience, for all her help, Clive took the audience through Ken’s life, remarking on how many local organisations he had been associated with. The audience recognised themselves or old residents in many of the photos which included the train derailment of 1960, the very last train leaving the station in 1963, St Agnes School Sports Day at Goonown in 1966, when the awards were presented by Mary Rand, Maypole Dancing at the School (1954), many Flora Dances led by the Tennis Club, the Square Dance Club, the opening of the Catholic Church in 1958, the Seal Sanctuary, and many scenes of St Agnes in the snow.
Roger thanked Clive for his fascinating talk. Members now eagerly await Clive’s new book on Ken Young.